Freedom to Choose Conference 2013, sponsored by The University of Notre Dame Australia Fremantle Campus

Mannkal Economic Education Foundation / UNDA Mannkal Economic Education Foundation University of Notre Dame Australia

Welcome to Freedom to Choose 2013:
The Economics of Government Failure

Freedom to Choose is an annual one-day economics conference devoted to considering the degree to which policy makers should pursue free-market policies. There is a focus, in particular, on placing free-market ideas in their historical context and the role economists should play in policy formation. The invited conference speakers are encouraged to adopt a critical, scholarly and non-ideological stance when considering these issues. Dissent is encouraged both from the floor and the podium.

The 2013 Conference has the sub-theme of "The Economics of Government Failure". The speakers will consider how and why the costs of government failure can be substantial. Government intervention to resolve market failures may often fail to achieve an efficient allocation of resources. Speakers will make reference to Australian and international cases where the diagnosis of market failure may be accurate, but the recommendations and policies designed to correct such failures are inappropriate. Speakers will examine how both microeconomic and macroeconomic policies of various kinds may actually produce unintended, negative results and considerable resource wastage.

The conference is specifically designed for undergraduate, honours and postgraduate students, but all interested parties are welcome. Forums will also be provided at the conference in which students can interact with established economists to discuss the wisdom of pursuing honours and postgraduate qualifications in the discipline of economics, as well as careers in economics generally.

It is to be held on Tuesday 2nd of July 2013 on the Fremantle Campus of The University of Notre Dame, Australia.

The keynote speaker is Geoffrey Brennan (ANU/Duke).

Invited speakers and panel discussants include: Geoffrey Brennan (ANU/Duke) as keynote, Richard Pomfret (Adelaide), Mac Boot (ANU), Jeremy Shearmur (ANU), J.J. Pincus (Adelaide), Tony Endres (Auckland) and John King (La Trobe)

The formal Deadline for Registration is June 18th, but note that there is a limit of 80 attendees, and hence those seeking to register should do so as early as possible to ensure that they gain a place.


The conference is kindly sponsored by the Mannkal Economic Education Foundation and The University of Notre Dame, Australia.

Thanks should also be extended to Professor Tony Endres, of The University of Auckland, for selecting the Theme and speakers for the 2013 Freedom to Choose conference.