MD Course Structure

In 2017, Year 1-3 students will be enrolled in the Doctor of Medicine (MD) medical program. Year 4 students will have the choice to enrolling in:

  1. MBBS
  2. MBBS (Hons)
  3. MD

More information is available on the student portal.

The medical program at Notre Dame is a 4-year graduate entry program.

The curriculum in the medical program is integrated in that four Domains: Basic and Clinical Sciences (BCS), Communication and Clinical Practice (CCP), Personal and Professional Development (PPD) and Population and Preventive Health (PPH), work together to develop learning objectives in all four years of the course. In Years 1 and 2 (the preclinical years), the learning objectives are addressed in weekly problem based learning (PBL) tutorials. In Years 3 and 4 (the clinical years), the learning objectives are organised into disciplines (within which the Domains are still represented) which students address during a series of clinical rotations.

Each year has one compulsory integrated unit:

Year 1 MEDI6100 Foundations of a Medical Vocation
Year 2 MEDI6200 Foundations of Clinical Practice
Year 3 MEDI6300 Clinical Apprenticeships / MEDI6301 Clinical Apprenticeships in the Rural Clinical School*
Year 4 MEDI6400 Preparing for Internship

There is an additional compulsory research training unit in Year 3 of the MD course – MEDI6302 Systematic Research Inquiry.

*MEDI6301 is administered by the Rural Clinical School of Western Australia (RCSWA). Students enrolled in this unit spend the entire academic year in a rural area.

The specific breakdown of Domain representation in each year is as follows:

Domain Year 1 Year 2 Year 3 Year 4
BCS 60 40 20 20
CCP 20 40 60 60
PPD 10 10 10 10
PPH 10 10 10 10

The MD course is:

  • A postgraduate course (commencing in 2017)
  • Four years in length, each year representing a unit with an additional compulsory research training unit in Year 3
  • Full-time
  • Internal
  • For Years 1 and 2, based at the Fremantle campus, with 1-1.5 days at Murdoch University
  • For Years 3 and 4, based at metropolitan hospitals with a ½ day on campus

Assessment methods

The School uses written, practical and clinical assessments.

Written papers include multiple choice questions (MCQs), extended matching questions (EMQs) and scenario-based short answer questions (SAQs).

Practical exams for Years 1 and 2 students include written questions based on specimens and images.

Clinical assessments include OSCE-style exams in all four years and mini clinical examination (Mini-CEX) assessments in Years 3 and 4.

Students in all four years are expected to develop and maintain a Professional Portfolio. Assessment of the Portfolio is formative in Year1 and summative in Years 2, 3 and 4.

The RCSWA carries out all assessment for its students with involvement from Notre Dame academic staff.