Brief history of the School of Medicine, Fremantle

The School of Medicine, Fremantle took its first cohort of students in February 2005. Eighty-one students were enrolled in the first year, 80 of those students have since graduated. The number of students in each year has gradually increased and the School is now at a steady state of approximately 100 students per year.

The School has graduated nine cohorts of students, i.e. approximately 800 graduates.

The School was led by its inaugural Dean, Professor Adrian Bower from 2004-2007. He was integral to the set-up phase and attaining initial accreditation of the School with the Australian Medical Council (AMC). Professor Jenny McConnell was the Acting Dean for the first half of 2008 until the arrival of Professor Gavin Frost who led the School during its consolidation phase until April 2014. Professor Shirley Bowen is the immediate past Dean and was instrumental in the School’s transition to a Doctor of Medicine qualification.

The School is accredited by the Medical Board of Australia until 31 March 2023.

The School uses both the private and public hospitals for clinical teaching and has tapped into the great potential for clinical teaching in the secondary hospitals.

The School started with a handful of staff and today has approximately 70 fulltime equivalent (FTE) staff and 160 adjunct staff.