Stations of the Cross

The Stations of the Cross have long been part of the devotional tradition of the Catholic Church. They are a re-enactment of the passion and suffering of Jesus Christ, telling the story of the final events leading up to his crucifixion and resurrection. In 1994, the late Mrs Dianne Wansbrough, one of the early Governors and a great supporter of the School of Nursing, commissioned well-known Australian artist, Peter Schipperheyn, to create a series of 14 Stations for the Fremantle Campus. Beginning in the Malloy Courtyard and ending in the University’s Chapel, the series of bronze panels follow a path through the two main courtyards.

Every year on Good Friday, the University hosts a special Stations of the Cross service. For information on this event please contact the Campus Ministry Office on 9433 0581.

The story of the stations are included in the Public tours of the Fremantle Campus
which are held every Friday ( excluding public holidays) at 11am throughout the year.

1st Station:
The Last Supper
2nd Station:
The Garden of Gethsemane
3rd Station:
Before the Sanhedrin
4th Station:
Jesus Before Pilate
5th Station: Jesus
Whipped and Crowned
6th Station: Jesus
Carries the Cross
7th Station: Jesus is
Helped by the Cyrenean
8th Station:
The Women of Jerusalem
9th Station: Jesus
Nailed to the Cross
10th Station:
The Good Thief
11th Station:
Mary and John
12th Station: Jesus
Dies on the Cross
13th Station:
Jesus is Buried
14th Station:
Jesus Rises from the Dead