School of Education celebrates its inaugural awards night

Dean of Education, Associate Professor Mark Tannock and
CEO of The Australian Catholic Superannuation & Retirement Fund,
Mr Greg Cantor,
with the
Christus Magister Award recipients, Laura Aulsebrook and Chris Turner.

12 January 2011

The School of Education recently recognised outstanding achievement amongst its student body at the inaugural awards night at The University of Notre Dame Australia’s Sydney Campus.

The evening was attended by over 100 of the School’s students along with family and friends. A number of prizes were awarded including those that recognised academic excellence, achievement in Religious Education and professional experience.

The preeminent award for graduating students, the Christus Magister Award, was presented to Bachelor of Arts/Bachelor of Education (Secondary) student, Christopher Turner, and to Bachelor of Education (Primary) student, Laura Aulsebrook.  The award recognises student commitment to the University, academic achievement and exceptional performance in professional practice.

When accepting his award, Christopher commented on what he had learnt through his studies at the University.

 “Notre Dame has taught me that as a teacher the fundamental concern will always be whether the individual needs of the students in my care are being met.”

The awards for students were sponsored by a large number of industry partners including Mount St. Joseph Milperra, St. Aloysius’ College, KU Children’s Services Australia and the Catholic Education Office of the Diocese of Wollongong. The Australian Catholic Superannuation & Retirement Fund, represented at the Awards Night by its Chief Executive Officer Mr. Greg Cantor, generously sponsored 5 of the awards.

Dean of the School of Education, Associate Professor Mark Tannock commented that the inaugural Awards Night was an important step in the continued development of the School of Education in Sydney.

“Coupled with the professional accreditation of all our pre-service degrees by the New South Wales Institute of Teachers and the establishment of the School’s Advisory Board under the chairmanship of Professor Kelvin Canavan, 2010 has been a big year,” said Associate Professor Tannock.

All awards for the School will be given on an annual basis to recognise excellence in its pre-service teaching programs.

Media Contact:

Moira Saunderss (+61) 2 8204 4407

Bookmark and Share