Academic, ethical and innovative achievements recognised at Notre Dame

2013 graduate, Danielle Blackwell, was the recipient
of the University Medal at Notre Dame's annual
Awards Ceremony on the Fremantle Campus.

Dr Sean Kearney, Julie Maakrun and Timothy Perkins from the School of Education, Sydney, received the Vice Chancellor's Award for an Initiative that
Enhances Student Learning.

4 April 2014

High achieving students and staff at The University of Notre Dame Australia's Fremantle and Sydney campuses have been recognised for their academic achievements, innovative teaching methods and contributions to the greater good at the annual Awards Ceremonies.

The Ceremonies were held at St Benedict's Church, Broadway, and in Malloy Courtyard, Fremantle, on Tuesday 25 March and Thursday 27 March 2014 respectively.

Vice Chancellor Professor Celia Hammond said the Ceremony was an opportunity to recognise the embodiment of the University's Objects in its staff and students and publicly acknowledge the achievements of the University's highest academic achievers.

"All award recipients here tonight have been given a good strong intellect, a capacity for academic excellence and an inherent capacity for love and compassion. These gifts are wonderful and we are delighted to have such gifted people in our community, but, we are not rewarding you for simply having these gifts," Professor Hammond said.

"What we are recognising and rewarding here tonight is what you have done with your God-given talents. We are recognising your effort, your initiative, your perseverance and your dedication to your studies. We acknowledge and praise you for using your God-given intellect in such a way that you have achieved academic excellence."

The University Medal, considered the highest academic award presented by Notre Dame, was awarded to Fremantle Bachelor of Nursing graduate, Danielle Blackwell, and Sydney Bachelor of Medicine / Bachelor of Surgery graduate, Timothy Hewitt. These medals recognise the undergraduate student who graduated in the previous year with the highest average weighted percentage mark of all graduates.

The Vice Chancellor's Postgraduate Medal was presented to Master of Professional Accounting student on the Fremantle Campus, Jerry Atunga. Jerry was also the recipient of the Ernst and Young Scholarship for 2014.

Timothy Perkins, Julie Maakrun and Dr Sean Kearney from the School of Education, Sydney, received the Vice Chancellor's Award for an Initiative that Enhances Student Learning for the Kenya Immersion Project involving Notre Dame students volunteering at the Aberdare Ranges Primary School and the Holding Hands Children's Home in Nakuru, Kenya.

Described by his peers as a "mentor, story-teller and co-owner of the knowledge", Student Support Officer in the Fremantle School of Education, Lou Thompson, in his 50th year of teaching, was acknowledged with the Vice Chancellor's Award for Teaching.

The School of Philosophy and Theology Logos Team in Sydney received the Vice Chancellor's Award for an Initiative that Enhances Student Learning for their innovative modules that carefully prepare students in philosophical, ethical and theological enquiry. Associate Professor Helene de Burgh-Woodman and Associate Professor John Rees each received the Vice Chancellor's Award for Teaching.

Graduate Diploma of Education (Secondary) student on the Fremantle Campus, Gemma Thomson, received the inaugural HELYRON Education Scholarship which is presented to meritorious student from a Catholic Secondary School in WA who is commencing a teaching degree in the School of Education.

Service Awards were also presented to students on the Fremantle Campus who embody the University's Objects through community service initiatives, social justice, advancement of the Catholic mission and pastoral care.

Caroline Lansdell (Archbishop Foley Award); Megan Halsall (Br Gerald T Faulkner Award); Claire Purio (Helen Lombard Award); and Hamish Watkins (Saint Mary MacKillop Award) were the worthy recipients.

Academic Merit Scholarships were also presented to a number of commencing students across the University's nine academic Schools in Fremantle and Sydney.

Leigh Dawson: Tel (08) 9433 0569; Mob 0405 441 093;   
Hannah Guilfoyle: Tel (02) 8204 4141;