Dr Dearin honoured as Local Legend

Associate professor Dr John Dearin (centre) received his Local Legend award
from Member for Bathurst Paul Toole and Mercury editor Len Ashworth

23 April 2014

Associate Professor Dr John Dearin, Head of The University of Notre Dame Australia's Lithgow Clinical School, has been honoured with the Local Legend Award in Lithgow for his contribution to the region.

Dr Dearin was presented with the award last week by Paul Toole MP, State Member for Bathurst and Len Ashworth, Editor of the Lithgow Mercury. Dr Dearin received the award for his contribution to Higher Education in the region through the School of Medicine Sydney's Lithgow Clinical School and his role as a local General Practitioner (GP).

"As a practitioner in a rural area I can see firsthand the difference the presence of higher education and a committed health care system can make to a community. It is encouraging to receive this award and reconfirm the positive impact the Clinical School and its students will be able to make in this region and beyond," Dr Dearin said.

Associate Professor Dr Joe McGirr, Associate Dean Rural at the School of Medicine Sydney, believes the award highlights the positive impact higher education and health care has on rural communities.

"Higher education and health care are both important factors in the growth and stability of rural regions and this award reaffirms the positive effect the Clinical School is having in Lithgow under the leadership of Dr Dearin," Dr McGirr said.

Dr Dearin commenced with the School of Medicine Sydney in 2009 and oversaw the relocation of the Lithgow Clinical School from temporary accommodation within Lithgow Hospital to a $4.8 million purpose-built facility, funded by the Commonwealth, on the Hospital grounds in January 2013. The Clinical School now accommodates five to six full time final year Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery students a year with four rotating students at any one time.

The Lithgow Local Legend Award is awarded on a monthly basis to members of the local community who have made an outstanding contribution to the region.

Hannah Guilfoyle: Tel (02) 8204 4141; hannah.guilfoyle@nd.edu.au