Academic excellence celebrated by The University of Notre Dame Australia

Vivienne Li (Individual Achievement Award winner) celebrates with Jocelyn Koukoumas
(winner of two awards: first year award for Applied Psychology and first year award for Counselling)

15 June 2015

The outstanding achievements of students from The University of Notre Dame Australia’s School of Arts & Sciences were recognised and celebrated at its recent annual Prize Giving evening.

Award winners, their supporters and a number of distinguished guests proudly celebrated the academic and creative achievements of 2015 at the recent ceremony at St Benedict’s Hall, Sydney Campus.

Award recipients were selected from first year and upper level categories, and were awarded for holding the highest grade within their discipline. Recipients received prizes from a number of leading publishers, bookstores and partner organisations, and were also handed certificates of achievement.

Individual award winners included Jocelyn Kouloumas, Applied Psychology and Counselling; Mikaela Cherote, Communications and Media; Shona Christie, English Literature; Harry Davies, History; Sabina Nettleton, Mathematics; Amelia Hatton, Politics & International Relations; Laura Barter, Social Justice; Georgina Theakstone, Sociology; and Tayla Whiteman, Theatre Studies.

Individual Achievement Awards went to Vivienne Li and Emily Gallagher. Vivienne, undertaking a Bachelor of Counselling and Behavioural Science, was recognised for her service to the Notre Dame community, excellent academic achievement and for exemplifying the values of the University. While Emily was recognised for excellent academic achievement in History, including undergraduate publication in a peer-reviewed journal.

A special SAGE Award for Outstanding 2014 Graduate from the School of Arts & Sciences went to Natasha Rodricks for demonstrating outstanding academic achievement throughout her Bachelor of Arts degree. The $2000 prize award was donated by SAGE Publications in recognition of its 50th Anniversary which coincided with the University’s 25th Anniversary in 2014.

The Honours Award for outstanding academic achievement in the School of Arts & Sciences Honours program went to Alex Chung.

“The Awards Night is a strong reminder the School is committed to the very highest standards and that those who ultimately benefit from its success are the students,” Dr Angus Brook, Acting Dean of the School of Arts & Sciences, Sydney, said.

Sarah Westhoff receives her Upper level award for Film and Screen Production from lecturer Marco Ianniello.
Shona Christie receives her First year award for English Literature, from Dr Jane Stenning.

Theresa Kyne: Tel (02) 8204 4141; Mob: 0407 408 177;