Awards ceremony celebrates success of School of Physiotherapy’s shining stars

Award recipients at the School of Physiotherapy’s 2015 Awards Ceremony
on Notre Dame’s Fremantle Campus.

7 July 2015

The University of Notre Dame Australia’s School of Physiotherapy, celebrated the academic achievement of students, graduates and staff from the 2014 academic year at its 2015 Awards Ceremony at the Fremantle Campus.

The much-anticipated, annual event provided the School with an opportunity to acknowledge the hard work and dedication of its students, and also the commitment of its staff in educating and graduating students for careers in the health industry.

In opening the ceremony, Professor Peter Hamer, Dean of the School of Physiotherapy, said: “University life can be very busy – and the achievements and hard work of our students can be missed in the hustle and bustle of a busy academic and clinical program. It is a rare pleasure to be able to take some time out to recognise and celebrate these achievements.”

Among the highlights of the evening was a presentation by guest speaker Dr Mervyn Travers. Dr Travers, a physiotherapist with a clinical background in sports and elite performance, has worked extensively with rugby teams in both Ireland and Australia. The current Clinical Director at Star Physiotherapy, Dr Travers works on the management of complex and longstanding injuries, and also mentors junior physiotherapy staff.

Dr Travers entertained the 220 guests at the ceremony with colourful anecdotes illustrating the notion that learning and teaching are lifelong pursuits, and that one cannot exist without the other.

The following students, graduates and staff received awards on the night, kindly donated by distinguished members of the physiotherapy profession and through the generosity of local and national health care businesses and industry partners.

Sara Kelly:Harry B Lee Award
Brooks Sports Award
Soft Tissue Injury Management Award
Australian Physiotherapy Association First Year Award
Kendall Foulds:BakBalls Award
Danica Bailey:Sports Physiotherapy Australia Award
Nicole Koch:Louise Smyth Award
Continence and Women's Health Group APA (WA) Award
National Gerontology Group APA (WA) Award
Todd Moir:Move Well Award (shared)
National Paediatrics Group APA (WA) Award (shared)
National Neurology Group APA (WA) Award (shared)
Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy Australia APA (WA) Award (shared)
Australian Physiotherapy Association Third Year Award
Nicole Platell:Move Well Award (shared)
Cardiorespiratory Physiotherapy Australia APA (WA) Award (shared)
Fremantle Catenian Circle Prize
Jo-Aine Hang:National Paediatrics Group APA (WA) Award (shared)
Courtney De Souza:National Paediatrics Group APA (WA) Award (shared)
Jessica Davies:National Neurology Group APA (WA) Award (shared)
Oliver Hosking:National Neurology Group APA (WA) Award (shared)
Darcie Mitchell:Australian Physiotherapy Association Second Year Award
Jessica Thompson:Australian Medical Supplies Double Degree Award
Ashleigh Quinn:Staff Encouragement Award (Year 1-2)
Bethany Lamb:Staff Encouragement Award (Year 2-3)
Katie Adams:Elizabeth Henley Endeavour Award
Matthew Bagg:Sports Medicine Australia (WA) Award
Physiotherapy Research Foundation Award
ICB Medical Award
Australian Medical Supplies Outstanding Graduate Award
Abbey Sawyer:The School of Physiotherapy Award – runner-up Graduating Award
Cassie Riggio:Australian Physiotherapy Association Marcus (Joe) Rosen Award
Hamish Watkins:Brian Edwards Memorial Award
Mr Russell Chapman:Staff Teaching Excellence Award

To enquire further about studying in the School of Physiotherapy in 2016, please visit or contact the Prospective Students Office on +61 8 9433 0533 or email

Leigh Dawson: Tel (08) 9433 0569; Mob 0405 441 093;