Notre Dame graduate wins nursing award

Notre Dame nursing graduate, Karen O’Hare, accepts the Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery Graduate Award: (L to R) Susan Pearce, NSW Health Deputy Secretary, Karen O’Hare and Jacqui Cross, NSW Chief Nurse & Midwifery Officer

Photo credit: Dan Gosse, NSW Health

22 September 2017

A University of Notre Dame Australia graduate nurse has taken out top honours at the annual NSW Health Excellence in Nursing and Midwifery Awards, one of only three nurses to be recognised in the graduate category.

Karen O’Hare, a registered nurse at The Prince of Wales Hospital, won the Excellence in Nursing/Midwifery Graduate Award for her high level of dedication to her work and for bringing an impressive and modern skillset to her unit.

She was among 12 nurses and midwives who received awards from the Minister for Health, Brad Hazzard, at a ceremony on 14 September at Parliament House.

Karen said she was “very surprised by the win” and praised The Nursing School at Notre Dame for helping her successfully transition to professional practice.

"I am so grateful that I chose to study at Notre Dame. The extensive clinical placements Notre Dame offered were invaluable, as well as the expertise, experience and knowledge that the academic staff were able to impart," she said.

Karen graduated in 2016 with a Bachelor of Nursing Degree and commenced as a new graduate registered nurse in the Mental Health Rehabilitation ward at Prince of Wales Hospital earlier this year.

The University’s Dean of Nursing, Professor Sally Robertson, said The School of Nursing is incredibly proud of Karen’s achievement.

"It is a huge honour to have one our graduates win this award, and is a reflection of her outstanding dedication to the nursing and midwifery profession as well as the quality of education she received at Notre Dame," said Robertson.

Mr Hazzard congratulated all the winners chosen from 36 finalists, who were recognised for their contribution to improving patient care.

There were a record 301 nominees this year across 11 award categories, which included Clinical Leadership, Innovation (research and education) and Consumer Appreciation.

Media Contact – Antonia Maiolo +61 2 8304 4141 | 0431 856 077 |