The area

The Darlinghurst site is surrounded by lots of quaint cafes, restaurants, stores and is well serviced by public transport.

Facilities in the School of Medicine Sydney

Notre Dame School of Medicine, Sydney is located in the historic parish buildings associated with the Sacred Heart Parish in Darlinghurst. The complex includes state of the art facilities such as simulated wards, practise wet laboratories and clinical skills laboratories in addition to simulated consulting rooms.

We also have an Anatomy Museum with specimens on loan from the Kanematsu Institute courtesy of Sydney Hospital. All rooms have AV facilities

Tutorial groups are based in 15 personalised PBL rooms. In keeping with modern libraries, the Notre Dame “virtual library” offers a 1 to 4 seating ratio and excellent computer access to on-line databases and student resources.

Biomedical Science Facilities

Students will also study biomedical science units in multi-storey laboratories at the University of Technology Sydney Broadway, negotiated under contract with Notre Dame. Facilities will include a state of the art anatomy facility which has been developed jointly by UTS and Notre Dame following the award of Commonwealth government funding.

Clinical Schools (year 3 and 4)

1) The Sydney Clinical School will be based at the Darlinghurst, St Vincent’s, Auburn and Hawkesbury hospitals.
2) The Melbourne Clinical School is based at Werribee Mercy Hospital and affiliated hospitals.
3) The Rural Clinical School is based at Lithgow. Selected students will spend one year at Lithgow, Wagga Wagga or Ballarat, with opportunity for all other students to spend four weeks in a rural placement.

Clinical Schools

The Melbourne Clinical School is primarily partnered with Mercy Health Care and is based at Werribee Mercy Hospital. We offer students excellent facilities and the opportunity to undertake clinical training across a wide number of hospitals along the eastern seaboard of Australia. Through international collaborations, students will have exposure to a wide range of electives in their final year.

The Lithgow District Hospital is the location of the Rural Medical School campus of the University of Notre Dame, Sydney. The hospital is a 60 bed integrated facility comprising 46 Public and 14 Private beds, complete with a Maternity unit, Operating theatres, Specialist consulting rooms and a full suite of Allied Health Services.

Sir John of God Ballarat is a 170 bed not for profit Catholic private hospital in Ballarat. It provides a full range of on-site medical and surgical services with the exception of on-site neurosurgery and cardiothoracic surgery. A new interventional Cardiac and Vascular Cath Lab performs primary and elective angioplasty. The Emergency Department treats 17000 patients per year comprising adult and paediatric attendances with approximately 3000 admissions per year.

The Wagga Wagga sub-school of the Rural Clinical School has been developed in conjunction with Calvary Health Care Riverina services include Calvary Hospital, a well-established 100 bed private hospital in the Riverina providing acute surgical, medical and obstetric services in a fully renovated modern facility. On-site services at Calvary Hospital include a cardiovascular and physiology centre, medical imaging unit providing comprehensive services, pathology laboratory and collection centre, and private practitioner consulting suites.